

International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences

University of Manitoba, Faculty of Medicine St. Boniface General Hospital Research Centre

351 Tache Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 2A6 Canada Ph: (204) 235-3417 Fax: (204) 237-0347 E-mail: nsdhalla@sbrc.ca

President

James Willerson *Houston, Texas, USA* Phone: (832) 355-6839 Fax: (832) 355-6810 james.t.willerson@uth.tmc.edu

President-Elect

Bohuslav Ostadal Prague, Czech Republic Phone: +420 2 9644 2553 Fax: +420 2 9644 2125 ostadal@biomed.cas.cz

Past President

Sir Magdi Yacoub Harefield, England Phone: +44 1895 453893 Fax: +44 1895 828902 m.yacoub@imperial.ac.uk

Board Chairman

Makoto Nagano *Tokyo, Japan* Phone: +81 3 3444 3567 Fax: +81 3 3440 3455 naganopr@st.catv.ne.jp

Executive Director

Naranjan S. Dhalla Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Phone: (204) 235-3417 Fax: (204) 237-0347 nsdhalla@sbrc.ca

CV Network Editor

H. Ivan Berkowitz Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Phone: (204) 228-3193 Fax: (204) 233-6723 ivan@mymts.net

Development Officer

Bram Ramjiawan Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Phone: (204) 235-3206 Fax: (204) 235-0793 bramjiawan@sbrc.ca

Administrative Assistant

Eva Little Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Phone: (204) 235-3417 Fax: (204) 237-0347 elittle@sbrc.ca

December 6, 2011

Dr. L.M. Popescu
Professor
Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Carol Davila University of Medicine and Pharmacy
Bucharest, Romania

Dear Prof. Popescu:

I am most honoured to inform you that the International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences has elected to present you with a Medal of Merit for the year 2012 for your Distinguished Achievements in Cardiovascular Sciences. Previous recipients of this prestigious medal were Drs. Michael DeBakey, Richard Bing, Robert Furchgott, Edwin Krebs, Eugene Braunwald, Robert Lefkowitz, Sir John Vane, James Willerson, Sir John Radda, Victor Dzau, Robert Jennings, Sir Magdi Yacoub, Louis Ignarro, Jutta Schaper, Wilbert Keon, Wolfgang Schaper, Nirmal Ganguly, Salvador Moncada, Howard Morgan, Ernesto Carafoli, Eric Olson, Laszlo Szekeres, Arnold Katz, Jay Cohn and Salim Yusuf.

Your whole career has been a great inspiration to your contemporaries and we hope it will continue to be a source of inspiration to future generations of the cardiovascular community. A summary of your curriculum vitae, achievements and other personal matters and a colour photograph will not only be published in *CV Network* but also displayed as a permanent record on the Academy's website (www.heartacademy.org).

Looking forward to hearing from you that this meets with your approval and receiving a photograph (electronic) and two page summary of your CV and achievements.

Sincerely yours,

Naranjan S. Dhalla, MD (Hon), DSc (Hon) Executive Director

cc: Dr. James Willerson, President

Dr. Bohuslav Ostadal, President-Elect Sir Magdi Yacoub, Past President

Dr. Makoto Nagano, Board Chairman

Board of Directors